How to locate, lock or wipe an iPad remotely

From Agnitio WIKI

Jump to: navigation, search
ICloud logo.png

Apple has introduced numerous new features with the iOS 5 upgrade, available for iPads and iPhones. One such feature is the ability to locate, lock, or even completely wipe an iPad remotely, in case of it being lost or stolen.

The functionality assumes that the iPad is connected to a network somewhere at some point, as this is obviously the only way to interact with it remotely. If the iPad is not connected to the internet, any changes or actions made using the functionality below will take effect the next time the device is connected via 3G or WiFi.

What follows are some notes on how this can be used.

Contents

Disclaimer

The following information refers to functionality that is built and managed entirely by Apple. Agnitio has no control over this functionality, AppleIDs, the iCloud, and the websites and Apps associated with these functions, and cannot offer support on the features. Agnitio is not responsible for any technical or practical issues that occur from the use of these features. The information contained below is merely intended to be a user reference-guide, explaining some features on the Apple iPad that users may benefit from.

Quick Reference

-Condensed instructions, for slightly more advanced users

  1. The Device must have iOS5 installed
  2. The user must have activated iCloud on the device, with his/her Apple ID
  3. "Find My iPhone" must be set to "On" on the device, under Settings --> Location Services, or Settings --> iCloud (The setting can be found in both locations)
  4. To locate, send messages, lock or wipe the device, either use the Apple "Find My iPhone"-app on another iOS device, OR go to https://www.icloud.com/ and log in with your Apple ID

Full Instructions

-Comprehensive step-by-step instructions

Prerequisites

  • Users must have installed iOS5 on the device
  • The device must have the iCloud functionality enabled (done during iOS 5 installation, or later)
  • The iCloud must be set to that user's AppleID (The username/ID used whenever the user logs onto the AppStore for updates)

Enabling the function

To be able to control the access to your device remotely, users must activate the function on the iPad. This can be done in 2 locations (It doesn't matter which you use)


"Location Services" on the Settings-menu (Click to enlarge)


Or on the "iCloud" menu on the Settings-menu (Click to enlarge)




















Using the iCloud to interact with a lost iPad

Should the device be lost, and you need to locate it or interact with it, you may use one of 2 options:

  1. You can use a free App from the AppStore called "Find My iPhone". Despite the name, this aApp is available both for iPhones and iPads, and can also be used to track both.
  2. You may interact with your device from a Mac or PC, via Apple's iCloud website: https://www.icloud.com/

Log in

The rest of this guid assumes that the user is using the iCloud website. The functionality found on the Apps is virtually identical


-You log in using your AppleID. This is the same username and password that is used for getting normal updates for the App through the AppStore

ICloud Login.png









Click the "Find My iPhone"-function:

FindMyiPhone-logo.png














Location

If your iPad is connected to the internet, it will now show up on a map, using the built-in GPS function. If you have several iPads or iPhones, a list will be seen at the top left as well.

FMi Location.png


































Sending a Message

You can now send a message to your iPad from the iCloud website. You simply type in the message that you would like to send, for instance informing people of your phone-number so they can contact you, and click "Send"

You can also choose to use the "Play Sound" option (it is "On" by default). If you use this, the message will be accompanied by a rather loud sound. This functionality overrides the local volume on the iPad, so it will always be played at maximum volume, even if the iPad is on "Mute"

SendMessage FMi.png




Once you have sent the message, it will pop up on the iPad:

Message FMi.png



Locking the iPad

The next available option is to lock down the iPad, which means you can add a pass-code to the device, or reset the one you already have, preventing anyone from accessing your device. To lock the iPad, choose the option, and enter the new passcode that you want. To avoid the risk of typos, you are asked to enter it twice.

Once this new passcode is entered, any person wishing to use the iPad will need to enter this 4-digit code before accessing anything on the device

RemoteLock FMi.png









Wiping the iPad

The final option offered is more drastic, and should only be considered if users are convinced the device cannot be retrieved, due to burglary or theft.

If you think the device is more or less permanently lost, but you want to be certain that no one can get access to any personal information on the device, or any Apps or data that may be stored on it, you can initiate a remote wipe by choosing the "Wipe iPad" option.


Wipe FMi.png







This will restore the device back to the "Factory Settings", which means any history of what has been on the device before will be permanently removed, and the device will go back to how it was the first time it was taken out of the box. This is useful for protecting personal and company content.

A word of warning

-If you remotely wipe an iPad, its connection to your AppleID and your name will also be wiped. This means you can no longer track it, send messages to it, or lock it remotely. So remote wiping should only be considered as a last resort.

Should you recover the iPad afterwards, you can restore the device to how it was before, if you have used the back-up functionality provided through the AppStore.


Confirmation e-mails

Whenever you activate one of the functions on the iCloud website, you will receive an appropriate status-mail. For instance, if you have sent a message to the iPad, you will receive a message when the iCloud-website has connected to the device, and displayed the message.

Example:

Confirmation FMi.png

Personal tools